book review: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

WE’RE FINALLY HERE AHHHHHHH HHHHHHHHHHHHH

Lia and Rafe and co. leave Venda and try to save their kingdoms from Komizar’s power hungry clutches.

1) Plot – Lots of twists and turns I could not predict. I’m always pleasantly surprised if it’s a good plot that I can’t completely figure out in one go.

2) Characters – Lia continues to be a motherfucking badass, Kaden gets justice, Rafe grows on me, Viceregent GETS THE ROAST, Lia’s parents get some nice moments, PAULINE ALSO IS A BADASS

Lia. My girl Lia. That girl was taking names in the second half of the book and I was shook. In a good way. She took control, made hard decisions, and got shit done. Golfer’s clap for you, MEP. It’s amazing to compare Lia in book 1 vs. book 3 Lia who basically became Morrighan’s king regent until she took over as queen of Venda after the battle. This is how you do character development (hand over heart).

Rafe – I actually did feel a lot for Rafe in the last book – his life is falling apart and he has to take command of his own kingdom plus also look out for Lia bc of love and also deal with his parents’ death. Boy has a lot on his plate. Rafe is so devoted to Lia (hand over heart) making some questionable decisions because he believes in her alkdsjfaefg.

Kaden – HE GOT JUSTICE MY SON GOT JUSTICE. I did miss the abundance of Kaden we had before. It just feels like there was significantly less of him because obviously Rafe is very important in this book.

Pauline is so unhinged and ready to take names and cut a bitch. She made me clutch my pearls. PAULINE. All while being preggo or post-preggo. I did think her interactions with Kaden were nice. I didn’t really see much basis for it, but for what we got it was still nice. Just nice.

Damn, I didn’t expect to like the king of Morrighan this much after just one chapter of him having it all figured out – being like “King Jaxon, you’re kneeling to the wrong person if you know what I mean…” damn. The queen too – even if we don’t see much of Lia’s parents, what we get is still solid.

3) Ending – MY GIRL LIA is the ~Queen~ of Venda. RAFE GREW MELONS FOR HER AND THEY’RE GONNA WORK THINGS OUT. aslkdfjasrer The long delayed happily ever after. Even the happily ever after trope is milked for all it’s worth. Kudos, MEP. Though, I did feel the Kaden x Pauline thing was rushed, but Rhys is a cute name for a baby (side glance I have an OC named Rhys). It’s not like I think they’re a bad match or anything, perhaps I’m missing the basis on why they should be together narrative-wise besides oh ye Kaden and Pauline get a happy ending.

Overall I enjoyed the ending of this series a lot. The writing was consistently well-done and while the premise for the series isn’t unique, the way MEP works them to her advantage is stellar. Lia is uncontested as my fave YA heroine because she doesn’t just throw quips around and poof shit’s done for her. She dragged herself through hardship to get where she is – she earned it and proved that she is enough and worthwhile – as an individual and as a leader. That’s not really something you often see developed to this sort of magnitude and with such intricate story-telling, in YA at least. The main trio are all solid characters in their own right. I only wish there were something more done with Kaden and Pauline.

I suppose the one main criticism for the entire series I have is that while its strength is that it does things that have been done before – but very well, it would have been nice to have some more unique elements included as well.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars 

Leave a Reply

